Bet HaMotor Museum ("The Motor House Museum") is a building situated at the entrance to Kibbutz Kinneret. The renovated, restored house was built in 1910 and was home to the first pump in the area that drew water from the Jordan River in order to water the Emek grounds. Between the years 1912-1930, a group of Yemenite new immigrants lived in very hard conditions in the area as they tried to grow crops in the area. The pump worked until 1928 when a supply of electricity was brought to the area. The Museum is closed most of the time and visitors need to book in advance.
address: Kibbutz Kinneret
Categories : Museums